What's new

Net Neutrality

It is a disaster for the consumer. Hopefully Ajit Pai gropes someone SOON so that people pay more attention.

net nuetrality rules are heavily backed by an ACTUAL nazi called george soros, he wants to control the internet, so yeah no thanks!

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAOLAAAAJGY5ODQ2ZWIzLTVhOTAtNGI5Yy05NWNhLWJlY2E1ZTgwNzQ5ZQ.jpg

aaah yeah!

Serious Q: Can anyone explain to me how killing net neutrality is a good thing? I'm a fairly pro free-market kinda guy, but the Internet seems like a public utility to me.

Serious Q: Can anyone explain to me how killing net neutrality is a good thing? I'm a fairly pro free-market kinda guy, but the Internet seems like a public utility to me.

Quick Google search gave me this:
Cons of net neutrality regulation
  • Regulation imposing net neutrality would limit new business ideas and concepts and could be considered against free market rules.
  • Sponsored content and “pay-to-play” schemes may go against the net neutrality spirit, but they can help companies improve the overall service they offer. Heavier internet users may be charged more. With that extra money ISPs could increase the bandwith for all internet users.
  • Thanks to sponsorships some mobile telecom operators may offer free internet access to some contents. This may enable those who don’t have data contracts on their smartphones to surf some areas in the internet for free. Similarly, it would reduce the consumption of other users’ data allotments.
  • Regulation for net neutrality may limit the tools of governments and ISPs to fight against online “piracy”. Material infringing copyright laws will be easilty shared using P2P software. ISPs or governments won't be able to block or filter these contents, if net neutrality is fully respeced. Similarly net neutrality rules make more difficult to monitor and control controversial adult content.