What's new

Basketball Rule Question

Archie Moses

Well-Known Member
For the life of me, I can't find this rule in the handbook. Anyways, I have a question for you guys.

I was playing in a game tonight. There was a shot taken by the other team and I went to box out. I put a little to much forearm and force and accidentally laid out some dude. While boxing out, the shot went in (off ball foul, or away from the play foul). There was a foul called on me (there should have been) and they counted the basket(They should have because of the continuous motion rule). Anyways, my question is, who's ball should it be after the foul was called and the bucket was awarded.


(P.S.) I'm positive I know what the rule is on this, but I can't find it in writing. I got a T cause I told the ref he didn't know the rule in a polite manner. :D Keep in mind I'm talking about a couple of officials who I watched the game before call a tech after a foul and made the free throw shooter shoot the 1 and 1 (with cleared out lanes) before the 2 tech FT's.
 
I always thought in the NBA that's an and 1 foul (regardless of the penalty situation) so the team would shoot a FT and then the regular crap would apply. But come to think of it I'm not sure.
 
So I did find the NBA rule. That is correct. Don't know what the rule is in other levels of basketball.

https://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_12.html?nav=ArticleList


Section VIII--Loose Ball Fouls

(4) Offended player is awarded one free throw attempt plus a penalty free throw attempt if the offending team is in a penalty situation
b. If a "loose ball" foul called against the defensive team is then followed by a successful field goal, one free throw attempt will be awarded to the offended player, allowing for the three point or four point play. This interpretation applies:
(1) Regardless of which offensive player is fouled
(2) Whether or not the penalty situation exists. The ball can never be award-ed to the scoring team out-of-bounds following a personal foul which occurs on the same play
c. If a "loose ball" foul called against the defensive team is followed by a suc-cessful free throw, one free throw will be awarded to the offended player whether or not the penalty is in effect.
d. If a "loose ball" foul called against the offensive team is then followed by a successful field goal attempt by the same offensive player, no points may be scored.
 
If there is a foul in the act of shooting it's an "and-one" after the made shot for the offensive team regardless of whether or not it was the shooter who was fouled.

One foul shot for the offense.

Doesn't happen often; but I've seen it a few times.
 
When I was playing young men's ball, our coach was also a high school varsity referee. We had that situation come up and he explained that shot counts and whatever the situation regarded for the foul was also in effect. So in essence, the player you laid out could shoot 1 and 1, 2 shots, or simply get the ball out of bounds. At least, that's the way he explained it. From reading the other posts, it sounds like it may be different now or at least in the NBA.
 
OK, from what I understand, the basket should be counted, I should be given a foul, and the possession becomes ours. Reasons: Ball possession never changes during the shot (think of the shot clock rule). Now, if the player misses the shot, they maintain the ball, however if the shot it made, count the bucket because of the continuous motion rule (charge the foul to me) and change of possession. The only time I can think of where you get two possessions in a row is for a technical foul.
 
So I did find the NBA rule. That is correct. Don't know what the rule is in other levels of basketball.

https://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_12.html?nav=ArticleList


Section VIII--Loose Ball Fouls

(4) Offended player is awarded one free throw attempt plus a penalty free throw attempt if the offending team is in a penalty situation
b. If a "loose ball" foul called against the defensive team is then followed by a successful field goal, one free throw attempt will be awarded to the offended player, allowing for the three point or four point play. This interpretation applies:
(1) Regardless of which offensive player is fouled
(2) Whether or not the penalty situation exists. The ball can never be award-ed to the scoring team out-of-bounds following a personal foul which occurs on the same play
c. If a "loose ball" foul called against the defensive team is followed by a suc-cessful free throw, one free throw will be awarded to the offended player whether or not the penalty is in effect.
d. If a "loose ball" foul called against the offensive team is then followed by a successful field goal attempt by the same offensive player, no points may be scored.

I'm pretty sure the FT awarded to the offended team in this scenario is NBA specific. I'm looking for the high school rule on this.
 
I believe I've seen the ball rewarded to the offensive team in college when this situation occurs with no free throws.
 
Back
Top