What's new

Why do you love that Jazzy note?

JoelHodgeJr

I grew up in a small town in Vermont. We had about 5k total people. With no major state sports team my fandom was like a ronin samurai. So after I had a fling with Orlando magic, Penny hardaway was injured forever and Shaq was traded away. Nick Anderson got the yips worse then Markel Fulkz. My unfounded fan ship cracked in his foundation.

I needed a new team to love. I was a freshman in college. I loved basketball, and thought I knew about it to be smart. It was the year that John Stockton retired and Karl left for a chip in LA.

Everyone said the Jazz would be the worst team in the NBA. I saw special in Andre Kirilenko. Matt Harpring I knew would produce through effort, and I thought Arroyo was going to get a chip off his shoulder. I won a bet that that the jazz would still have a winning record. They were 42 and 40 and the only team with the over 500 record to make to not make the playoffs. I won $250 on that bet my freshman yea. Ever since then I've studied and become charmed by the Cinderella that hasn't worn the slipper.

Last edited:
For me it was Stockton. I wanted to be like him as a player, albeit I did quit playing organized basketball in the late 90s.

Still to this day doesnt matter which sport I play, making a savvy pass is the thing that gives me greatest joy.. more so than scoring. I always had the vision and passing touch, but unfortunately my handle was tragic.