What's new

Kings/Hawks - Instant Replay, give me your opinion

Millsap was the last to touch it. But not off his knee like Sacramento was claiming. The last thing it touched was Millsap's pinky finger.
 
Out on Rondo. He pushed the ball out of Millsap's hands. I've always understood that to be out on the person who pushed the ball out of bounds. Now if it had hit Millsap's knee or anything else after it left his hand it would be out on him. But as it happened, out on Rondo.
 
Rondo

Hawks ball
 
Millsap was the last to touch it. But not off his knee like Sacramento was claiming. The last thing it touched was Millsap's pinky finger.

Yep, you have to pause it after Rondo hits it, but it seems to hit Millsap's finger last. Not sure if it's conclusive enough to overturn the ball, but that's what it looked like to me.
 
Yep, you have to pause it after Rondo hits it, but it seems to hit Millsap's finger last. Not sure if it's conclusive enough to overturn the ball, but that's what it looked like to me.

But my understanding is that it doesn't matter. As long as it was in his hands and another player caused the ball to leave his hands and go out of bounds then it's out on the guy who made it go out of bounds. Am I wrong? Of course it's different if after it leaves his hands he reaches for it and touches it, or it hits his body, but he lost possession because Rondo hits the ball.

The ball never changes direction from where Rondo sent it.

Just like if you're holding the ball in both hands and someone close-fisted hits the ball causing it to go out of your hands. The person holding the ball technically touches it last, but it was the action of the person hitting the ball that causes the person to lose possession and if the ball goes out of bounds it's out on the person who hits the ball.
 
I'm with GF and fish on this. Rondo knocked it out and it didn't really hit anything else after it left Sap's hands.
 
But my understanding is that it doesn't matter. As long as it was in his hands and another player caused the ball to leave his hands and go out of bounds then it's out on the guy who made it go out of bounds. Am I wrong? Of course it's different if after it leaves his hands he reaches for it and touches it, or it hits his body, but he lost possession because Rondo hits the ball.

The ball never changes direction from where Rondo sent it.

Just like if you're holding the ball in both hands and someone close-fisted hits the ball causing it to go out of your hands. The person holding the ball technically touches it last, but it was the action of the person hitting the ball that causes the person to lose possession and if the ball goes out of bounds it's out on the person who hits the ball.
I agree it was out on rondo but i think you are wrong about why.
It should be whoever touched it last. That's the only thing that matters.

I couldn't really tell who touched it last (didn't really look all that choose tbh) so I went with rondo
 
I agree it was out on rondo but i think you are wrong about why.
It should be whoever touched it last. That's the only thing that matters.

I couldn't really tell who touched it last (didn't really look all that choose tbh) so I went with rondo

I don't think that's true. If Rondo knocked it out by hitting Millsap's hand, then it is still out on Rondo, even though it last touched Sap's hand.
 
I don't think that's true. If Rondo knocked it out by hitting Millsap's hand, then it is still out on Rondo, even though it last touched Sap's hand.
I always thought that the only thing that matters is who touched it last.

In your scenario it would be a foul by rondo or out on millsap imo
 
I always thought that the only thing that matters is who touched it last.

In your scenario it would be a foul by rondo or out on millsap imo

Not necessarily. You cannot call a foul on the review. So if it's not called it's not called. And in some situations it's not clear if it should even be a foul. Say the ball is in the air, and both players go for it. Player A gets to the ball a fraction of a second before player B, but then player B brushes player A's hand causing the ball to deflect out of bounds. In that case, it is on B.

At least that's what I heard commentators say.
 
Not necessarily. You cannot call a foul on the review. So if it's not called it's not called. And in some situations it's not clear if it should even be a foul. Say the ball is in the air, and both players go for it. Player A gets to the ball a fraction of a second before player B, but then player B brushes player A's hand causing the ball to deflect out of bounds. In that case, it is on B.

At least that's what I heard commentators say.
I wasn't saying that there would be a foul called on the review. I say that if they don't call a foul in regular play then the ball is out off whoever touched it last
 
Are you guys serious? It's who touched it last period. How the **** can you possibly think it's dependent on the aggressor rather than last touched. That's some silly silly ****.
 
I wasn't saying that there would be a foul called on the review. I say that if they don't call a foul in regular play then the ball is out off whoever touched it last

From the official rule book:

c. The ball is caused to go out-of-bounds by the last player to touch it before it goes out,
provided it is out-of-bounds because of touching something other than a player. If the ball is
out-of-bounds because of touching a player who is on or outside a boundary, such player
caused it to go out. If a player has his hand in contact with the ball and an opponent hits the
hand causing the ball to go out-of-bounds, the team whose player had his hand on the ball
will retain possession.
 
From the official rule book:

That is if the aggressor hits the player rather than the ball. If the aggressor hits THE BALL and then the player with possession then touches it last then it's out on the player that touched it last.
Sheesh.

What you bolder is more of a foul, so yeah.
 
That is if the aggressor hits the player rather than the ball. If the aggressor hits THE BALL and then the player with possession then touches it last then it's out on the player that touched it last.
Sheesh.

What you bolder is more of a foul, so yeah.

Take the L buddy. ;)
 
Oh ok. I thought you were into science rather than fairy tales.. kinda heart-warming to see you petting unicorns.

It was a question about if a player's hand was hit causing the ball to go out of band, whether it'd be on the player or the hitter. I gave the answer by quoting the NBA official rule book. The official rule book says it'd be on the hitter. It does not say it would be a foul. It does not say it would be on the player who touched it last. I've seen this in dozens of NBA games. The question is settled.
 
Back
Top