What's new

On God and Religion

AtheistPreacher

Most of you probably know that I'm a graduate student in philosophy of religion. I've just finished my MA at the University of Chicago Divinity School, and I'm starting PhD work at Claremont School of Theology (in southern California) in late August.

With all the religion and religion-related topics that come up on this board, I thought it was time I posted something about my views on God and religion. After all, if I don't pontificate once in a while, then why did I bother accruing over $30,000 in student loans (so far)? This is going to be long, and I expect that few will bother to read it all, but if nothing else it gives me something to point to when people ask me about this stuff. Much of it is adpated from various papers I've written here at UChicago, but I've kept technical stuff to a minimum, and I've tried to be as engaging as possible. If you don't fall asleep halfway through, I think I've succeeded.

To be right upfront about my leanings, I'm an ex-Catholic (my mother's religion) who attended 13 years of Jesuit schooling. I believe in God, but it's a somewhat different God than the traditional Christian conception. My primary influence is process theologian Charles Hartshorne, who stressed rationalism above all else; my favorite quote of his is: "A theological paradox, it appears, is what a contradiction becomes when it is about God rather than something else, or indulged in by a theologian or a church rather than an unbeliever or a heretic." Lastly, in religious matters I am driven primarily by teleological concerns -- that is, questions of meaning to life.

In any case, here I go. Thoughts on anything below are, of course, welcome.

Introduction